Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unhandled Exception when performing _io_fflush() to UART

Jump to solution
panpwr
Contributor IV

Hello,

I try to sent a short string (4 bytes) to UART, at the following way:

_io_write(uart_ch, stream_ptr, stream_len); //<== After performing this line, only 2 bytes are actually transffered to UART

_io_fflush(uart_ch);  // <== Unhandled Exception

I use Keil uVision4 (4.60) IDE. It doesn't matter how I open the UART - it's the same result (either XON_XOFF or NON_BLOCKING modes).

When I check the debug->MQX->Check for errors, I see under "Tasks": "Unhandled Exception", the Task ID, and the Task Descriptor (by the way - it's not the task that issued the UART write action, but a different task).

1. Why doesn't it write all the bytes at once?

2. What can cause the "Flush" action to behave like that?

3. What can I do with the exception information? How can I get to the bottom of the problem (I have very little knowledge of MQX debugging...)

Thanks,
Lior

0 Kudos
1 Solution
panpwr
Contributor IV

Hello,

After a long assembly level debugging (:smileyshocked:), I've found that the stack pointer of the current task, just before leaving the fflush -  points to a an area which is a different task's stack! (though I've used Keil's stack monitor, and haven't seen any shortage of stack memory for this task).

I've enlarged the stack size for this task and the problem went away (I hope it won't appear again in a different location:smileywink:).

Another small question regarding the unexpected_isr:

I do use printf() to print to console - so I would expect to see more information once an exception has been triggered. I must say that I haven't quite got the idea of how to debug such cases with my Keil's uVision (Keil support usually do not support MQX debugging issues....).

Thanks!

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
c0170
Senior Contributor III

Hello panpwr,