K60 port pins state on reset: mandatory external pull-up/down resistors?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

K60 port pins state on reset: mandatory external pull-up/down resistors?

Jump to solution
silentlab54
Contributor III

Hi all,

I'm using the kit TWR-K60D100M-KIT and I'm studying the document Number K60P121M100SF2V2RM (K60 100MHz reference manual); I'm not able to find precise informations about all pin's state at reset; for example, must I insert pull-up or pull-down resistors to give to my external memory bus (connected via flexbus) a known logic state at reset/powerup? (we can extend this example for all pins that have some connections with external devices which require a known logic state at reset/powerup).

Thanks for your help! :smileyhappy:

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
Derrick
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Pulling-up the chip select pin(s) on a memory device (i.e., deselecting it) will result in having it tri-state its data bus pins and ignore the signals on the address bus. During power-up, the MCU will not be driving either bus - the end result being that all of these external signals will effectively "float". This will not cause a problem for the Kinetis MCU as its pins have been configured to properly handle this scenario - they will either "disconnect" or default to being an analog input.

I have never seen this cause a problem with an external memory device. A quick inspection of the schematics for Freescale's K60 Tower board (TWR-K60D100M) and Tower Memory Module (TWR-MEM) shows no pull-up resistors on either address or data bus.

If you suspect that this may cause a problem in your design, I suggest that you contact the vendor of your SRAM to have them verify that their device will not be damaged if its address and data lines are floating while the chip select (and other control pins) are externally pulled up.

Best Regards,

Derrick

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
adriansc