How to improve boot time (postpone e. g. ethernet driver startup)?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to improve boot time (postpone e. g. ethernet driver startup)?

Jump to solution
bitlauncher
Contributor II

I am quite new to Linux and tool chain.

I want to improve boot time to some few seconds (from about 45 seconds) for an embedded device using the i.Mx53.

Ethernet connection is not immediately required. Therefore the initialization of the driver could be postponed, e. g.

triggered by a startup applications entry in Ubuntu 10.04 LTS.

I have LTIB installed in an VMPlayer image from Freescale, that is running.

I found out, how to log time stamps with the dmesg messages - using several seconds for ethernet:

[3.188496] EXT3-fs (mmcblk1p1): mounted filesystem with writeback data mode
[3.195784] VFS: Mounted root (ext3 filesystem) on device 179:9.
[3.201866] Freeing init memory: 172K

[   14.315784] eth18: Freescale FEC PHY driver [Generic PHY] (mii_bus:phy_addr=0:00, irq=-1)

[   16.224619] sgtl5000_write: write reg error : Reg 0x10 = 0x6262

[   16.308874] PHY: 0:00 - Link is Up - 100/Full

[   17.999442] mxc_ipu mxc_ipu: Channel already disabled 9

How can I postpone the ethernet driver initialization?

Another time consuming parts are:

[   21.453034] mxc_ipu mxc_ipu: Channel already uninitialized 9

[   21.468712] DMFC high resolution has set, will not change

[   29.935493] sgtl5000_write: write reg error : Reg 0x06 = 0x0080

[   31.013038] ehci_fsl_bus_resume, DR

[   38.719007] sgtl5000_hw_read: read reg error : Reg 0x0e

[   38.729912] sgtl5000_write: write reg error : Reg 0x0e = 0x000c

[   38.767677] sgtl5000_write: write reg error : Reg 0x02 = 0x0020

[   38.811864] sgtl5000_write: write reg error : Reg 0x06 = 0x0130

[   44.079862] EXT3-fs: barriers not enabled

[   44.093281] EXT3-fs (mmcblk0p1): warning: maximal mount count reached, running e2fsck is recommended