cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Gstreamer in IMX53QSB

jk1z
Contributor I

Dear All,

I would like to use gstreamer (I am new to gstreamer) in qsb. But in the current rootfs - it is not there. (I use the rootfs, that came along with the kit)

One of our thread shown that to use gstreamer we need to use ubuntu rootfs.

From where can i download the ubuntu rootfs? kindly suggest. 

thanks,

-jk

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
12 Replies

JorgeMuaᄆoz
Contributor I

Hi jk,

In this link you will find the image of the debian distribution I'm using on my iMX53 board.
I had to break it on 5 pieces in order to upload it, you will need to use 7zip to put it back together.

http://sdrv.ms/OqNtx5

BTW, the credentials to enter debian are:
username: 'user'
password: 'user'

Regards.

0 Kudos

JorgeMuaᄆoz
Contributor I

Sorry for the late response, I will take sometime this weekend to upload an image of the Debian build I'm using, it already has the gstreamer plugins, so no need to build them.

0 Kudos

jk1z
Contributor I

Hi Jorge,

I downloaded the ubuntu from free scale website only.

I am not strictly want to use ubuntu, Debian also OK to me. 

if you have the respective source of linux kernel and rootfs, kindly let me know. I will try with Debian with LXDE.

I am just confused, which one is better to select.

thanks for your help.

rgds,

jk

0 Kudos

JorgeMuaᄆoz
Contributor I

Hi jk,

I would not know what version of Ubuntu you are running or from where did you download it, if you share the link maybe we can see what features does it have and also understand better the issues you have with it.

If what you want is a desktop environment, from my experience the best option for the iMX53 QSB is Debian with LXDE, it performs faster than the Ubuntu distributions and you can install a lot of software using 'apt-get' or 'aptitude'.