cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Issue with USB communication between iMX25 and Cortex-M3 core-based MCU

gotenks81
Contributor I

Hi everyone,

My name's Daniele Romano, I'm an electronic engineer living in Rome, Italy.

I'd like first to beg all your pardon for the complexity of the experimental setup I needed to create for the actual project I'm currently working on. I'll try to illustrate it by the easiest way I can do.

I'm currently involved in the development of a Qt application which should run on a iMX257 microprocessor with the support of an embedded Linux kernel distribution. The application needs to communicate, via USB, with an ARM Cortex-M3 core-based microcontroller. The communication protocol is serial, as trivial as a RS232-based TX-RX-GND wires-only cabling: the iMX257 acts as the master of the communication, while the CM3 as the slave. The latter uses a FT2232D interface on the board to translate the UART serial protocol to a USB one; onto the former, the HAL is represented by an FTDI_SIO driver, which acts as the interface between the serial protocol (handled by the application and redirected by the kernel, using the FTDI driver, to the USB Host PHY controller of the iMX257) and the USB protocol.

The development setup is currently set as I'm going to show: the board onto which the iMX257 is mounted is connected with:

(1) Via a USB Host PHY port, to the Cortex-M3-mounted board;

(2) Via a RS232 3-wires only port, to a COM port on the host computer onto which I'm developing the application;

(3) Via an Ethernet port, to the Ethernet port of the same host computer.