cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tutorials how to use this?

jose
Contributor I

Hello guys,

Is there any tutorials/references on how to use this?

I'm about to procure one and use it with imx51evk and imx53qsb.

I can debug the kernel and user-space programs with this right?

Any tips?

0 Kudos
2 Replies

jose
Contributor I

I see, thanks for shedding some light.

About gdb though, I did tried to use it but I always get "[1]Segmentation Fault" when I issue even plain "gdb" on the target's prompt. By the way I am using iMX53QSB and Android Gingerbread r4.2 from Adeneo Embedded. Some said the gdb might be corrupted but I was using the prebuilt images from Adeneo so I assumed everything on it is working right? or I hope... :-)

But I guess printk would be fine too for me, I am to port some drivers from third party peripheral vendors and also make my own driver but I am new to this so I need some kind of guide or good references at least.

Sir Matt, could I ask some favor from you?

I just need a simple sample that would configure and control a pin as a gpio like the user_led on the imx53qsb. And if you could also give a simple sample to configure an interrupt that would use the user button on the same board?

I would greatly appreciate it Sir Matt.

I've read the user guide from FSL but the API is relatively too huge for a beginner like me and i'm not that familiar with linux/android so that adds to the complexity of learning this system.

Thank you sir and have a nice day.

0 Kudos

Matt_ng9
Contributor III

Userspace programs are debugged using gdb.  I think you can debug drivers with gdb too (The drivers I have written have been relatively simple so far, so I never needed more than printk statements).