cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Building a computer on a 68000 CPU

aka
Contributor I
Hi all,

We want to build a new computer, but to keep it cheap, we'd like to use the 68000.

As I'm a programmer, and do not know so much about electronics and how to connect the hardware, I'd like to ask you guys, if you can provide me with some answers that would just pop out of your mind. :smileywink:

I'm very fond of the Atari ST(e), that's basically why I've chosen the 68000.

The hardware we'd like to include is...
68000, 10 or 12MHz (perhaps a $5 CPU)
DMA for playing sounds (connects to 24bit DAC)
DMA for recording sounds (connects to 24bit ADC)
RTC (probably DS12887)
IDE harddisk interface
RAM, at least 1MB, preferrably upgradable to 15.x MB
EPROM, 16k would be enough, but preferrably 256k

What I'm hoping for, is that we can make a simple, fast, and low cost design. I'd prefer, though, ease and speed over cost.

Now, for the questions...

1: Approximately how many 16bit words can I transfer per second using a 12MHz CPU ?

2: (Roughly) how is hardware connected - If I want, for instance, to wire the DMA's registers to address $fffffc10, how would this preferrably be done?
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies

w_wegner
Contributor III
Hi,

if you are a programmer and do not know how to connect things, I think it is a bit too risky wanting to build your own computer. You will learn much, but probably spend more money than if you get something that is already complete.

If you know about 68k architecture and want to stick with it, I would suggest using an evaluation board (or single board computer) of one of the newer Coldfire processors; then you have at least processor, RAM and Flash on a board that is working and you can concentrate on your other peripherals and software.