MC9S08LC60: 32.768Khz External Xtal+1sec RTI+KBI at 5 Inputs+STOP3. Current consumption?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MC9S08LC60: 32.768Khz External Xtal+1sec RTI+KBI at 5 Inputs+STOP3. Current consumption?

BasePointer
Contributor II
Hi,

I'm new at freescale and thinking of developing a project with MC9S08LC60 that is not released yet. I have some doubts before starting. My project should consume very low power at the battery.

MCU will run at ~2.7V VDD.
It manages all RTC functionality with a deviation 0.5 sec/day.
It works with a low power external xtal 32.768Khz.
It has 5 inputs to wake-up in sleep.
It enters STOP3 mode and wakes every second.
It should start-up as fast as possible and than sleep again after some code executions.
No LVD, No LCD, No ADC while in stop3 mode.
There is no external hardware consumes current.

Under these conditions, Can you estimate the approximate current consumption of my application?

Thank you.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies

paul
Contributor I
Hi again,

The controller was set to its default oscillator mode. The 3 uA was pretty close to average . On the meter, there was a slight jump in current when the micro would wake-up.

In my design, when the micro awoke, it would increment an internal time keeping clock, and test some port values, then return to stop3. The "on" time was minimal.

I also forgot to mention that this was the total consumption for the micro, RTC and one hex inverter. I thought that was pretty good!

Paul
0 Kudos

paul
Contributor I