Newbie Question - Is CodeWarrior for Windows Dead??

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie Question - Is CodeWarrior for Windows Dead??

thebofh
Contributor I
I usually hate to ask such a question but I am completely new to CodeWarrior.  I was just wondering if the CodeWarrior for Windows is dead?  Forgive me if this has already been addressed.  If it has please just point me to the discussion.  Thanks.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
10 Replies

marc_paquette
Contributor V
To be able to concentrate and improve its development tools for other platforms, Freescale sold its Intel x86 compiler and debugger technology to a third party. As a result, Freescale will no longer create and sell development tools for the Intel x86 platform.

However, this sale does not affect your right to use CodeWarrior or develop x86 software with licensed CodeWarrior tools.

Finally, Freescale is happy to continue to support these products in this forum.

I hope this addresses your concerns.

Marc.
0 Kudos

thebofh
Contributor I
If you don't mind me asking, who did Metrowerks sell their Windows compiler to? 

<rant>

You know this whole thing reminds me a lot of the Apple Newton thing.  With the Newton you had a product that was, and in some cases still is, before its time.  The value was not really recognized by the "money lords".  The Windows CodeWarrior version reminds me a lot of the same thing.  I have used many Windows and Linux C++ development systems and I can truly say that the CodeWarrior system is at the top - even if it is "dead".  I just think that this is a real shame.  I wish instead of it being sold that Metrowerks or I guess Freescale would have made it Open Source.  At least in the OS community it would still have a fighting chance.  Just my two cents worth.

</rant>
0 Kudos

marc_paquette
Contributor V

Metrowerks sold the tools for Windows and Symbian to Nokia.