HCS08 Timer Question

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HCS08 Timer Question

RChapman
Contributor I
This message contains an entire topic ported from a separate forum. The original message and all replies are in this single message. We have seeded this new forum with selected information that we expect will be of value to you as you search for answers to your questions.

Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 6:15 am    

I have a SCI receive routine that receives characters through interrupt. I would like to be able to enable an error condition if the next character is not received within 1 second.
I am new to HCS08. However, on other micros, I would use a free running timer with an overflow interrupt. I would reset the timer every time I get a character, and if I got on overflow, I know that the next character did not receive on time.
Using the processor expert, I see that there are free-running timers but they don't generate an overflow interrupt.
I can probably do it using a free timer and an event timer but I thought I would ask the experts here about the best way of doing this.
I would appreciate anyone pointing me to the right direction.

Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 6:33 am    

Almost all the applications I do require some form of a "heart-beat" interrupt. Most of the HC(S) variants have some form of real-time interrupt hardware on board.
Enable that at a reasonable rate (I usually try for something around 1.0 mSec). Inside that irq I use a flag (RIP -- receive-in-progress) and counter. The first serial receive irq sets the flag and initializes the counter; every receive thereafter re-inits the counter. When the final char in the string is received the receive irq clears the RIP flag.
Meanwhile, if the heart-beat irq sees the RIP flag set it decrements the counter. If the counter ever reaches 0 an error routine is launched.
Works for me.
Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 6:40 am    

Thanks. This was very helpful. I'll give it a try.