KBI on GT60

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

KBI on GT60

RChapman
Contributor I
This message contains an entire topic ported from a separate forum. The original message and all replies are in this single message. We have seeded this new forum with selected information that we expect will be of value to you as you search for answers to your questions.

Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 10:37 pm    

Hi,
I'm a complete newbie to embedded programming so please excuse me.

I want to interface the GT60 to a chip via SPI, unfortunately I'm going to use a module that contains both the GT60 and the MC13192, and that module does not expose the MCU's h/w SPI pins. So I will have to resort to using a software SPI using the IO pins.
The problem is I also want to listen for a couple of buttons and external events on the other KBI pins.
I'm figuring I'll listen for any interrupt generated on KBI, but can't figure out if it infact has some mask I can use to distinguish which pin generated the irq.
Can any one give me an idea of how to figure out which I/O pin generates an event?
Thanks,
Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 6:34 am    

If the external chip can operate as a SPI slave device, the software SPI routines will be simpler, and you will usually not need an interrupt for SPI operation. In this event, the interrupt would only be needed for the buttons and external events.

Setting appropriate bits within the KBI1PE register would determine the keyboard interrupt inputs, so you can restrict interrupts to the buttons, etc. To determine the button that caused a particular interrupt, you can simply read and test the state of the relevant Port A bits from within the keyboard ISR. The data direction for these bits would need to be configured as inputs.

Regards,
Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 4:53 pm    

Hi,
So I was finally able to get a KBI interrupt, but needed to clarify a couple of things.

Firstly here's my setup :

On app startup I do the following: