cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

imxrt 1064 evk communicating with an external device using SPI interface

YH14
Contributor I

Hello,

I am new to NXP board programming and I am trying to connect my imxrt1064 evk to an external device (a sensor) using a SPI interface. I need to read the roll, pitch and yaw from the external sensor.  I have tried to follow the SDK examples using lpspi peripheral but the example is not very clear. Could anyone point me out in the right direction.

TIA

0 Kudos
6 Replies

YH14
Contributor I

Hi Kerry,

Thank you for your response. I had tried this already but the slave is not responding with values. 

TIA

YH

0 Kudos

kerryzhou
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi YH14,

Thanks for your updated information.

So, do you check the SPI bus wave, then compare it with your external device datasheet, whether that meets your external device SPI communication sequence or not?

BTW, when you connect the SPI to your external device, you need to make sure your external device is power on at first, then the RT send the command to your external device, just make sure, when the RT send the SPI data to your slave, the slave is ready to receive it.

Any updated information on your side, just kindly let me know.

Best Regards,

Kerry

0 Kudos

kerryzhou
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi YH14,

Welcome to use the NXP MIMXRT product, I would like to provide service for you.

If you want to use the RT1064 LPSPI to connect your external sensor, you need to read your external sensor datasheet, check the SPI baudrate which it can accept, then the related control command.

Then you can refer to this RT1064 SDK code:

SDK_2.9.1_EVK-MIMXRT1060\boards\evkmimxrt1060\driver_examples\lpspi\polling_b2b_transfer\master

masterConfig.baudRate = TRANSFER_BAUDRATE;//LPSPI baudrate.

When you want to connect the external sensor, you need to send the command to your sensor.