Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RT1170 TDM capability questions

Jump to solution
yfliu
Contributor IV

Hi,

I am still learning RT117x crossover MCU, especially its ability to manage TDM links.

Here are my questions list, looking forward to anwsers and suggestions:

• Can we have two-way TDM links with two other devices using only SAI1 device? 
    • Can we use TX1/RX1 for one TDM link with one peer and use TX2/RX2 for TDM link with another peer?
    • If each peer takes two lines in above design, SAI1 device can support 4 such peers? 
  • For each unidirectional TDM link, the max frame length is 32 for RT1170?

Regards,

yf

0 Kudos
1 Solution
kerryzhou
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi @yfliu ,

Yes, of course, RT1170 SAI can support the TDM.

You even can find examples from the RT1050, which is the same SAI module:

SDK_2_11_1_EVKB-IMXRT1050\boards\evkbimxrt1050\driver_examples\sai\edma_tdm

Answer your questions:

=>Answer:  yes, SAI1 have several TX channel, max 4, each channel can be used as TDM. 

• Can we use TX1/RX1 for one TDM link with one peer and use TX2/RX2 for TDM link with another peer?

=>Answer: No, Tx and RX is not the same pin, so, you can't use it together. TX for transfer, RX for receive.

• If each peer takes two lines in above design, SAI1 device can support 4 such peers? 

=>Answer: SAI can support 4TX or 4 RX, just 1 TX and 1 RX is independent, other 3 share the pin, when you use as TX, you can't use as RX.

More details, check the RM.

=>Answer: yes, you are right

Best Regards,

kerry

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
kerryzhou
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi @yfliu ,

Yes, of course, RT1170 SAI can support the TDM.

You even can find examples from the RT1050, which is the same SAI module:

SDK_2_11_1_EVKB-IMXRT1050\boards\evkbimxrt1050\driver_examples\sai\edma_tdm

Answer your questions:

=>Answer:  yes, SAI1 have several TX channel, max 4, each channel can be used as TDM.