cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

i.MX8 Video Streaming Pipeline

alexstefan
Contributor III

Hi,

I'm a relative beginner to embedded Linux and trying to get a relatively simple (or so I thought) video processing pipeline using i.MX8 QuadMax. Right now, my processing pipeline looks something like this:

1. OpenCV captures video from the USB video camera using v4l2
  2. A simple text overlay is added on the video
  3. The resulting image is piped as a series of images to stdout and then into ffmpeg
  4. Ffmpeg encodes it and streams it to YouTube

The command being:

./apalis-opencv-test | ffmpeg -thread_queue_size 1024 -i pipe: -f lavfi -i anullsrc -f flv -c:v libx264 -c:a aac -preset ultrafast rtmp://a.rtmp.youtube.com/live2

My main issue is that I only get ~18FPS which seems really slow for a chip that can do HW encoding. I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction of at least what to test next. 

Thanks!

Tags (4)
0 Kudos
7 Replies

alexstefan
Contributor III

Following advice received on the GStreamer mailing list, I focussed on the CAPS negotiation between the different elements. This looks like the JPEG coming from the camera has a different format than the JPEG decoder expects.

0 Kudos

malik_cisse
Senior Contributor I

Also I do not recommand gstreamer debug level 4. It is too verbose. Usually 3 will do.

malik_cisse
Senior Contributor I

Hi,

ffmpeg's libx264 is using software encoding thus the poor performance.

You should rather use gstreamer pipeline with hardware h264 encoding (h264_enc element).

Gstreamer has all function you are interested in and is the native multimedia framework on i.MX8 QuadMax.

you can do

gst-inspect-1.0 | grep 264 to check exact name.

alexstefan
Contributor III