cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

i.MX28 Accessing USB Test Modes Windows CE 6.0

markwilliams
Senior Contributor I

Hi all,

I have an i.MX28-based design and I am currently performing USB testing. I have an onboard SMSC 3-port USB hub connected to USB1 (host-only) port. The USB0 (OTG) port of the i.MX28 is just used for downloading images.

I found an IOCTL in the HCD driver that I have used to force my hub to output the USB high speed test pattern for signal integrity analysis (IOCTL_EXTERN_HUB_TESTMODE). This has worked perfectly and I have been able to verify from the hub to the outside world.

I now need to verify from the i.MX28 to the hub. To do this I will need to set the hub IC to 'Force High Speed Enable' so it turns on its internal termination. I will then need to get the i.MX28 to generate the high speed test pattern.

Does anyone have any experience with setting up the i.MX processors in Windows CE to command various test modes on the USB ports? Any help would be appreciated.

Kind regards,

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies

markwilliams
Senior Contributor I

Looking into this further it looks like I may need to get the hub to attach to the i.MX28 at high speed before enabling the test packet from the i.MX28.

The hub is suspended when no devices are attached to its ports. I assume I will need to connect a high-speed device to one of the ports to get the hub to connect with the i.MX28 at high speed, then turn on the test packet?

I am struggling to find info on this but I would guess a lot of embedded designs have on-board hubs and would need to perform this testing. Perhaps they remove the hub IC and fit ideal termination resistors at the hub-ic end for the purpose of signal integrity testing. After all for eye diagram compliance tests you would need to use ideal 45 ohm terminations on D+/D-.