cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

formatting SD card

MickeyMouse
Contributor I

Hi all,

I am new to linux ...and got stuck in the first stage of using the imx development board. I have an imx 233 eval board. I have followed the steps in AN3875 to install debian linux on a vmware virtual machine. Now i am following the "i.MX23 EVK Linux User’s Guide" to format my SD card. I am using a 2gb micro SD card from kingston.

As per the tutorial, I am using "fdisk /dev/sdb1" for disk partition, when i use the "w" i am getting the error - "partition table failed with error - 22" , but when i use the command "fdisk -l /dev/sdb1" i could see the partition table.

So i proceed to the next step of using the "mkfs.ext2 /dev/sdb1p3" command to format the ext2 file type. But I am getting this error"Could not stat /dev/sdb1p3 -- No such file or directory" ....

Any help or suggestion would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance ...

Tags (1)
5 Replies

MickeyMouse
Contributor I

Thank to everyone for all the suggestion ...the issue was using /dev/sdb1 ...once I changed it to /dev/sdb  I got the SD card formatted properly .. :-) ...

Michael ..Thanks for the document and the suggestion ...I liked the suggestion of using a linux system ...also vmware is little painful ...

keep the good work going :-)

Thanks,

0 Kudos

myke_predko
Senior Contributor III

Hi Mickey,

AN3875 is a good place to start but I found it took a lot of massaging to get right.  Attached are the instructions that I use for first loading the SD card followed by the NAND image.  Once you have the SD card image set up, you can update it with the NAND image as you play with ltib. 

A few things first: