cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

c compiler in the Linux 3.14.28 image on i.MX6Q

jingyizhang
Contributor I

Hi,

I am new to Linux and just flashed the SD card with the Linux 3.14.28 BSP provided by Freescale,

but when I try to compile anything, it says I have no acceptable c compiler.

This is the output in terminal when I tried to compile a gstreamer plugin downloaded from Freescale.

sh-4.3# ./configure

checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c

checking whether build environment is sane... yes

checking for a thread-safe mkdir -p... /bin/mkdir -p

checking for gawk... gawk

checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes

checking whether to enable maintainer-specific portions of Makefiles... no

checking for gcc... no

checking for cc... no

checking for cl.exe... no

configure: error: in `/home/root/gst-fsl-plugins-3.0.11':

configure: error: no acceptable C compiler found in $PATH

See `config.log' for more details

and this is my $PATH value

sh-4.3# echo $PATH

/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/sbin:/sbin

Do I need to compile my own gcc on a host machine and copy it over? Or compile the plugin on the host machine with cc and copy that over? Quite confused, any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Labels (4)
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
5 Replies

BiyongSUN
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

you need to know what is "cross compile" first.

0 Kudos

b36401
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

You can compile GCC among of the packages as you are using Yocto to build the image.

Please refer Freescale Yocto Project User's Guide for the details.

P.S. I see Dhaval had already answered the question.

Have a great day,

Victor

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Note: If this post answers your question, please click the Correct Answer button. Thank you!