What is the difference between this two u-boot repositories for i.MX6?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the difference between this two u-boot repositories for i.MX6?

m4l490n
Contributor V

Hello everybody

I would like to ask if anyone of you know what is the difference between the freescale iMX u-boot found in the Freescale i.MX u-boot Tree website here http://git.freescale.com/git/cgit.cgi/imx/uboot-imx.git/?h=imx_v2014.04_3.14.28_1.0.0_ga and imx U-Boot Custodian Tree found in the actual u-boot project repo here git.denx.de Git - u-boot/u-boot-imx.git/summary

I ask this because I'm new to embedded linux and recently I got the UDOO board to experiment and learn and looking into the linux world I understand that u-boot is a generic, or universal, bootloader that can work with several different boards and processors and as such, there is a version of u-boot that works with the UDOO board found here GitHub - UDOOboard/uboot-imx: Das U-Boot for UDOO

In the README for the UDOO u-boot says that it is based on the Freescale's U-Boot (uboot-imx) version 2015.04. and doing some thinking about this topic of u-boot I realized that all u-boot versions for all the boards out there have to have their roots, I mean their origin, at the same u-boot "generic" project right?

Now, searching on the U-Boot project I found that there is a fork of u-boot for the i.MX called "imx U-Boot Custodian Tree" in the original project site, BUT there is the freescale public git repo that has a u-boot version for the i.MX. This is confusing because for instance if I would create my own board with an i.MX processor which repo should I be cloning, the one in the freescale repo or the one from the u-boot site?