cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WF111 Driver Build against FSL Yocto

Jump to solution
sammusso
Contributor III

Hello we are attempting to get the WF111 WiFi module running on our IMX6ULEVK board. I'm fairly new to yocto, with first exposure about six weeks ago so I apologize if this is something obvious. 

I've downloaded the driver source from silabs and am following the instructions in http://www.silabs.com/Support%20Documents/RegisteredDocs/AN996.pdf to build the driver. I'm getting caught up when the instructions refer to the kernel source directory. Looking through the build directory in yocto I found $BUILD_DIR/tmp/work-shared/imx6ulevk/kernel-source/ but I've run into a number of issues passing that directory as KDIR to make. Here are my notes outlining everything I've tried so far. 

External Build:
1) Enable the following with "bitbake menuconfig virtual/kernel" as per AN996: WF111 LINUX DRIVER INSTALLATION
cfg80211 - wireless configuration API
Generic IEEE 802.11 Networking Stack (mac80211)
IEEE 802.11 for Host AP (Prism2/2.5/3 and WEP/TKIP/CCMP)

2) Build target with "bitbake fsl-image-machine-test"

3) cd $BUILD_DIR/tmp/work-shared/imx6ulevk/kernel-source/; make modules_prepare ARCH=arm CROSS_COMPILE=/usr/bin/arm-linux-gnueabi-

NOTE: cat include/generated/utsrelease.h outputs: #define UTS_RELEASE "3.14.52+"
On my target the kernel version is: 3.14.52-1.1.1_ga+gdb1bcba

4) Change directory to wf111 driver source root.
run: make install_static KDIR=${KERNEL_SRC} ARCH=arm CROSS_COMPILE=arm-linux-gnueabi-

NOTE: I get "WARNING: Symbol version dump Module.symvers is missing"

5) scp all files to target in proper location.

NOTE: insmod / modprobe fail with "modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'unifi_sdio': Exec format error" with dmesg showing "unifi_sdio: no symbol version for module_layout"