cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Playing Video While android is booting up

SharanK
Contributor II

Hi All,

I am new to the Android OS.I am in the process of playing a video file [.avi file] while android is booting up.

I could locate the bootanimation folder which currently has android logo while booting up.Now i want to replace this with a short video file.

Please help.

Thanks in advance,

Sharan K

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
15 Replies

nww
Contributor I

the bootanimation is not a video, as such. it is rather couple of png files displayed after each other. so dont expect 25fps ;-)

android is not meant to play a video when it boots -- it will play an ANIMATION, a series of pictures, easily, if you want.

if you want something more fluent, you may have only 2 options:

1. use a faster cpu/sdcard
  2. modify the c++ source code and recompile. related files are give in my comment here: http://imxcommunity.org/xn/detail/4103961:Comment:68658
0 Kudos

SharanK
Contributor II

Hi,

I tried png's, the effect is still poor. I tried with lesser number of images, increasing the fps, with only one folder etc. Nothin seems to improve the 'video effect . Please help.

Thanks,

Sharan K

0 Kudos

SharanK
Contributor II

Hi Niki,

Thanks for your reply.

I dont expect a 25fps video :)

I will try with png's . I am guessing that there are a lot of processes running parallely while booting up, so it is slow for the first time.

Best Regards,

Sharan K

0 Kudos

nww
Contributor I

sharan,

that's the reason why it is called bootANIMATION and not bootVIDEO ;-)

"the bootanimation is not a video, as such. it is rather couple of png files displayed after each other. so dont expect 25fps ;-)"

"also note that the default shiny "android" animation is done in a VERY different way, directly coded into the bootup sequence!"