Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No HDMI, WLAN, USB on i.MX8M Quad EVK

Jump to solution
daubsi
Contributor II

Dear community,

I am new to the i.MX8M platform and only worked with non-ARM micros so far. I have a used i.MX8M Quad EVK that I am now using to learn more about the platform, its capabilities, etc. I am trying to describe the problems I encounter and seek help for, as best as I can, so please bear with me and excuse if these are real newbie questions. 

For starters I wanted to test the Android 10 demo image from the NXP download area and flashed in on the SD card on the board. I had no output on HDMI but had setup the USB-UART console and was able to monitor the boot messages and log on to the serial terminal. During my first steps on the system I noticed that there was no mentioning about HDMI, a connected display or anything in the kernel boot logs, and it seems that also no USB devices were recognized and no WLAN device was present. After reading a lot and trying various boot options without success of getting an output on HDMI I wrote an Android 9 image to the SD to try that but had the same result. Also the Linux 5.4.47 image file behaved the same. For the Linux 5.4 I also flashed it directly into the onboard eMMC using uuu successfully.

I browsed through the NXP community for similar problems but didn't find posts about these specific problems, however tried everything which seemed to be remotely connected to my problems and read and learnt a lot.