Is there an i.MX 6 Solo emulator and which/how Linux distro to use?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there an i.MX 6 Solo emulator and which/how Linux distro to use?

vertz
Contributor I

Hi everyone, this is my first time here, reaching out to this community, so I hope you can help me out with something. I have a device coming in a few months that runs on an i.MX 6 Solo. Now, I haven't done a lot of reading and research yet, but I am doing so now, going through the various documentation files. Sorry if this is a question with an apparent answer, but I don't have the knowledge to answer it yet. So here it goes, how do I setup a development environment for this device. That is, even though I won't get the device in a few months, I would like to start developing applications for it, so is there a way to emulate a development environment that fits the constraints of the i.MX 6 solo? If there isn't a full software solution, is there a hardware solution then? I looked through the evaluation kits but there isn't an i.MX 6 Solo one.

That was my main question. now an extra one. Ultimately, I would setup Linux on the device. I am currently going through the documentation for the freescale embedded linux for i.MX application processors, however what I would like to know is what kind of linux distribution is it possible to setup on a device running i.MX 6 Solo, and would it ultimately be possible to setup JVM or Chromium, and have it run web applications, maybe even web apps running on the Crosswalk runtime environment?

I am aware this is a ton of information, but I am just kind of in the dark here, anything helps. so thanks in advance.

TL;DR - How to emulate the i.MX 6 Solo?; How/which Linux distro to setup?

Thanks, I'll stick around here for the few coming months :smileywink:

Labels (3)
0 Kudos
3 Replies

igorpadykov
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi Emz

for Chromium one can look at sect.5.6.6 Chromium Browser