Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GPIO is not accssible from sysfs for IMX8

viswa_kondapall
Contributor IV

Hi,

I am working on IMX8dx - Yocto 1.3 or 1.6

I am new to the IMX8dx. We are trying to access the GPIO from userspace/ command line.

export 73 > /sys/class/gpio/export  :
[  115.430117] export_store: invalid GPIO 73
[  184.114083] export_store: invalid GPIO 105
[  342.974089] export_store: invalid GPIO 73
is this error is due to lack of GPIOLIB ???

2. Pinctrl and iomuxc is added in the dts file: correct me if any mistake.

iomuxc: iomuxc {
        compatible = "fsl,imx8qxp-iomuxc, imx8qxp-pinctrl";
    };
3. GPIO Config value for the Register :

for output pin we are givign the value as below , please correct me if i am wrong.
SC_P_ENET0_RGMII_RXD3_LSIO_GPIO5_IO08      0x00000021
SC_P_QSPI0B_SS0_B_LSIO_GPIO3_IO23          0x00000021

4. LSIO_GPIO5_IO08  -- 26-25 bit position which is saying as   0x02000021
   is this value is correct ?? as GPIO OUTPUT configuration ?? or 0x00000021 is correct.

We enabled the DEBUG_GPIO config like all configs. I am not aware about yocto packages setup -- please help any needed to be enable.

No GPIO's we are able access from sysfs. No clue any where... please help in this yocto side or Config side issue.??

regards,

Viswa

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
6 Replies

diegoadrian
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hello,

How the i.MX8DX is still in pre-production. We still do not have any preliminary information about the software. Unfortunately, we are unable to assist you. 

However, to make work the GPIOs in the i.MX6 family is the same what you did. But instead of exporting the value that you are going to put in the class. Try using echo as below:

echo 73 > /sys/class/gpio/export

Hope this can help you.

Best regards,

Diego.

0 Kudos

viswa_kondapall
Contributor IV

Thank you for the confirmation.

My first point if see,

export 73 > /sys/class/gpio/export  :