cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Enableing and Booting from the eSDHC3

Jump to solution
waynee
Contributor I

I am in (desperate) need of help getting our iMX51 to boot from an eMMC connected to the eSDHC3.  Since I am only a lowly hardware engineer and don't have experience with uBOOT and the ROM, please reply with small words and walk me through the concepts. 

My software team has been struggling with the getting any communication to the eMMC.  One of our software engineers determined that the uBOOT was only enabling the first two eSDHC.  He has attempted to add code to enable eSDHC3 but we have not been able to see any results.  Can someone help us out?

Our end goal is to get the Linux to boot from the eMMC but as a first step we would like to see read and write access through Linux.  Our system is currently booting Linux through a BDI3000 via JTAG and Ethernet.  We have been able to confirm the eMMC is functional by running tests on it through JTAG.

Our eMMC is connected to the eSDHC through the following pins.

• CLK - NANDF_CS7 - ALT5
  • CMD - NANDF_RDY_INT - ALT5
  • DAT7 - NANDF_D15 - ALT5
  • DAT6 - NANDF_D14 - ALT5
  • DAT5 - NANDF_D13 - ALT5
  • DAT4 - NANDF_D12 - ALT5
  • DAT3 - NANDF_D11 - ALT5
  • DAT2 - NANDF_D10 - ALT5
  • DAT1 - NANDF_D9 - ALT5
  • DAT0 - NANDF_D8 - ALT5

Thanks for the help.

Wayne

Labels (2)
Tags (4)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
igorpadykov
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

He Wayne

I would suggest to start with :

AN4173 U-Boot for i.MX51 Based Designs,

Chapter 15 Adding Support for the i.MX53 eSDHC

MX53UG i.MX53 System Development User’s Guide

(actually i.MX51 and i.MX53 Linux/Uboot codes are very similar)

L2.6.35_10.11_ER_SOURCE : Linux 2.6.35 Source Code Files

IMX51_ER1011_LINUXDOCS_BUNDLE

For reference it may be useful to look at i.MX53 QSB schematic (SPF-27104_B.pdf, p8)

it has SD3 on board and its Linux/Uboot  codes

MCIMX53-START-R i.MX53 QS Board Schematics :