Connecting to GM BCM in 2003 Truck and/or ODBII (Also ODBII with '98 Olds Intrigue)

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connecting to GM BCM in 2003 Truck and/or ODBII (Also ODBII with '98 Olds Intrigue)

RodneyFulk
Contributor III

I posted a similar question like this in another forum but I didn't realize this group was here and that i would likely have a better chance here.

I am a Software Engineering student and I am working on a couple projects for vehicles of mine. I think the experience will provide me a great start towards working in the automotive field or at a minimum can be used as "Rolling Resume's". Not to mention the Geek content of having a totally connected vehicle.

I purchased a i.MX53 QSB to start "playing around? with some concepts. Likely will use this board in my car and an iWave i.MX SOM board with custom carrier board for the truck.

I have a '98 Oldsmobile Intrigue and a 2003 Chevy Avalanche.

With the Intrigue I plan to simply add an ODB II interface for simple diagnostic access. Probably build one based on the STN1110 IC or get a USB adapter based on one. This vehicle will likely just use the i.MX QSB I purchased because it will only be used as a infotainment system with GPS navigation. Because my daughter will be driving this car I plan to also save real time video and GPS tracking information. I may also build in a car start and security system as well which will run when the car is off.