cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connecting iMX53 QSB to Windows PC for App Development/Download

RobThompson
Contributor I

Hello,

I am a relative newcomer to the Android world and I am just getting started using the iMX53 Quick Start Board (QSB) with the associated 4.3" LCD Touchscreen.  I have successfully loaded the pre-built Android image downloaded from the Adeneo website and the Android support seems to run the preloaded apps (clock, browser, etc.) just fine.

I have also installed the Android Eclipse-based app developer support under Windows XP and can successfully build and emulate some simple applications.  I am having difficulty taking the next step, moving my simple applications to the QSB to experiment with and demonstrate to others.

I have what I am hoping are some trivial questions:

1) How do I set up and connect the QSB to be able to move my test apps to it?  So far I have been unable to find the Windows driver I need to support the "MX53 QS Android Phone" USB device that gets detected when the QSB is attached to my PC.

2) Once the QSB has an appropriate USB driver under Windows, what steps do I need to take so my Android test apps developed in Eclipse get sent to the QSB for Debugging rather than the PC's software-based emulator?

Thanks

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
7 Replies

mathias
Contributor I

Hello again,

I tried out the solution with the Ethernet connection and came across a few problems that I ended up solving, but it took me quite some time, so I’ll post what I found out so that the next one who tries this doesn’t waste as much as I did.
I don’t know if what I did is kind of trivial for you (it wasn’t for me), if it’s bad practice or if there is an easier way to do this. If you know one, please reply! It’s just the way it worked out for me.