cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I add 2 cameras? If so how?

Jump to solution
RodneyFulk
Contributor III

I am a computer science major undergrad and next semester I will be taking a class in AI and I am looking at using these Boundary Devices i.MX6 reference boards I have to perform Computer Vision actions. For this I will need 2 cameras to do 3D stuff and I understand these boards should have support built in to use 2 cameras and the build in video processors to be able to accomplish my goal.

Can someone point me in the right direction on how to get the hardware necessary to do this and what I need to do to get the full openCV system up and running?

Thank you!

Rodney Fulk

Labels (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
gary_bisson
Senior Contributor III

Hi Rodney,

Yes you can order the two cameras that are meant for our platforms directly on the website:

https://boundarydevices.com/product/nit6x_5mp_mipi/ 

https://boundarydevices.com/product/nit6x_5mp/ 

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Gary

View solution in original post

9 Replies
RodneyFulk
Contributor III

Yes you are probably correct then.

Do you have details on what it took to hook up the USB cameras?

I am assuming the mini PCIe adapter and a mini PCIe board but is there a specific board that is suggested for compatibility reasons with the BSP?

As to the cameras, I am assuming USB3 is required due to the data throughput. Otherwise would the USB2 ports be fast enough?

And what model USB cameras are compatible?

From previous research I understand the onboard GPU can be used to speed up processing of the video signals with openCV and I am curious if that will be an issue when using USB cameras?

I am guessing the USB type cameras would be a webcam type USB camera.

This could evolve into a drone or robot control system so I would like to maintain as much usability as possible.

(May play with Lidar and some different Radar systems)