Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CANBus interface for i.MX8QM MEK board

Jump to solution
tpe
Contributor III

Hello,

My aim is to enable the CAN interface for the i.MX8QM MEK attached to the base board. I'm running Android 10 (imx-android-10.0.0_2.3.0). I can't find the CAN interface when I execute 'ifconfig -a'. I noticed that the base board supports CAN FD which I believe is not supported for Android. Is there a way to use the legacy CAN utilities? I've tried disabling CAN FD in the device tree as suggested here. However, I still haven't been able to view my CAN interfaces.

Thanks!

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
tpe
Contributor III

I have solved this issue. The device tree blob includes imx8qm-mek-ov5640.dts which includes another device tree file called imx8qm-mek-rpmsg.dts that overrides the configurations for the FlexCAN and regulators' status to be disabled in imx8qm-mek.dts. I am relatively new to Android source code so it wasn't obvious for me to check the device tree files for camera display. Hopefully this helps anyone else who has this problem!

View solution in original post

7 Replies
preetamch29
Contributor II

Hi,

Could you please add the link for disabling the CANFD in device tree again.

The link seems to be not working.

Regards,

Preetam

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
tpe
Contributor III

I have solved this issue. The device tree blob includes imx8qm-mek-ov5640.dts which includes another device tree file called imx8qm-mek-rpmsg.dts that overrides the configurations for the FlexCAN and regulators' status to be disabled in imx8qm-mek.dts. I am relatively new to Android source code so it wasn't obvious for me to check the device tree files for camera display. Hopefully this helps anyone else who has this problem!

IvanRuiz
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hello,

Do you use the M4? By default, SCFW assigns CAN resources to M4 app. 

So if you use M4 and you don't need CAN on M4 partition, then you need to comment this line