cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AN12149 IEEE 1588 Sync Error

steven_keeter
Contributor I

Hello,

I have two i.MXRT1052 EVK boards and am running the firmware from AN12149.  I have the hardware configured just like the app note.  The PPS signals are on a scope and the offset is about 65nS and dithering approximately 50nS.  I have not edited any of the AN configured constants.  So, why do you think the AN12149 has a delta t of about 11nS and mine is a lot larger?  What would you recommend adjusting?  I'm still learning the finer details of the note but hoped NXP could offer suggestions quicker.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
15 Replies

xabiermarquiegu
Contributor II

Hello everyone,

I would like to test AN12149. Could any of you please, share the source code, or point me to where I can find it?

Thank you very much.

0 Kudos

steven_keeter
Contributor I

Another bit of information: 

I increased the #define ENET_1588TIME_DELAY_COUNT 600U  to #define ENET_1588TIME_DELAY_COUNT 6000U, to see if longer packet timing captures would help avoid big jumps due to a few long packet times, and cause the PTP state machine to leave the fine correction and jump back to coarse corrections.  So far this change seems to help.  I am logging a test over the weekend to see if the large jumps are gone.  BTW, the Grandmaster is connected to a switch with several devices attached.  Comments about this constant counter adjustment and network stability would be appreciated.

0 Kudos

jimmychan
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

The AN12149 IEEE 1588 demo is based on the PTPd with some features tailoring, only supports two devices connection directly. Please don't use router or switch to connect devices.

0 Kudos

steven_keeter
Contributor I

Hi Jimmy,  That's not very helpful advice.  I have tracked the issue down to two things.  One is that the constant called Nibble transport should have been set to 0x00 instead of 0x80.  You can read about this here