MKW21D design questions

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MKW21D design questions

thebhef
Contributor II

I'm working on a PCB layout using an MK21D part, and I have a few questions about the design.

First, is there a more stripped down reference design available than the FRDM board schematic? Something with just the minimum for chip support and wireless comms?

Second, what do I need to do with the TAMPER pin if I don't want to use it? I didn't see this in the reference manual.

Lastly, I'm pretty new to RF design, so I have some more general questions about it.

• How critical is controlled impedance on a transmission line (with a chip antenna)? Does anyone know roughly how bad an uncontrolled PCB could be if I had the trace and board stackup correct? Is it just the fact that it's not controlled? Any idea what difference there might be in cost?
  • What changes would I need to make in the design if I wanted to use a surface mount chip antenna
  • Is there a more integrated balun available? What do I need to know to search for one?

Any guidance I can get would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Ben

1 Reply

Antonio_Quiroz
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hello Ben,

NXP also has the USB-KW24D512, this design includes almost the minimum components to start working with the KW24D in a 4-layers stack-up.

If you don't want to use the TAMPER, KW2xD pin should be connected to a pull-up, 1M is recommend. If you are not using the NMI pin I also recommend 10k pull-up.

For the RF section:

-   For an optimal performance, the controlled impedance are strongly recommended, NXP references include an optimal design, an uncontrolled impedance performance will affect the RF performance, sensitivity and/or output power, please remember that 3dB losses is the half of the power - reduced than the expected power