cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hardfault when using eeprom in KW36 BLE demo

Jump to solution
jictannu
Contributor III

I want to use eeprom in KW36 BLE demo. In frdmkw36_wireless_examples_bluetooth_hrs_freertos, I set gAppUseNvm_d and gNvUseFlexNVM_d to 1. In __NvModuleInit(), it configures eeprom and reset. However, after it reset, in hardware_init(), it calls NV_ReadHWParameters(&gHardwareParameters), and then it run into HardFault_Handler()! How to use eeprom in BLE demo?

in __NvModuleInit(), before I call FLASH_ProgramPartition(...),the data at 0x7f800:

pastedImage_1.png

after I call  FLASH_ProgramPartition(...):

pastedImage_2.png

pastedImage_3.png

Labels (1)
1 Solution
Xiang_Li
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

I am not an expert (yet) with FlexNVM. I did some check today, but couldn't find definite answer.

Our colleagues designed FlexNVM in a relatively complicated way to learn and use. (Just search FlexNVM, there are many questions raised.) also documentation on this can be further improved.

I have 2 guesses for your issue.

(1) is that after partitioning, with default values in codes, all 256KB D-Flash are turned into EEPROM backup space. My guess is in this case, the flash space is no longer accessible with addresses. So when trying to load data in FREESCALE_PROD_DATA area (e.g. *((uint32_t*)gRngSeedStorageAddr_d) ), a bus access error would occur and results as a hard fault.

It is easy to test this, just try: * (uint32_t *) 0x0007F7F8

This would read the address in the previous flash sector (shown in your picture as 0xFFFFFFFF). Or try any other address in the D-FLASH area. If all accesses can trigger hard fault, then this region is no longer accessible.

Btw, in your debugger (memory) window, it shows values of 0xFFFFFFFFs, but this maybe cached. And could become ???????? as well.

(2) is that in KW36 user manual, section 29.4.11.16 Program Partition command.