cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

500 kbps Sampling ADC on CAN channel

Andre_b
Contributor II

Hi

I'm a beginner on S32K144, so I apologize in advance if I will say something totally wrong.

I need to sampling CAN High and CAN Low by ADC0 and ADC1, but I have to be sure that my ADCs sample at least 1 bit per sample when the bitrate on my CAN channel is 500 kbps. I have been read how to configure high sample rate on ADC from https://community.nxp.com/t5/S32K/ADC-High-Sampling-Rate-and-Graph/m-p/871689 but with these parameters I can't achieve the target.

I'd like to know if is possible achieve this sample performance on S32K144.

I attached the ADC.c, FlexCAN.c and clocks_and_modes.h used and below the Matlab graph obtained using 500kbps with 110 samples.

voltage_can_500kbps.png

I did a test(below) with CAN 100kbps with others ADC.c, FlexCAN.c settings and this is the result (110 sample) what I'd like to reach, one sample per bit.

voltage_can_100kbps.png

Kindly guide me or small example code will be helpful. Many thanks

Andrea

0 Kudos
12 Replies

Andre_b
Contributor II

Hi PetrS

At the end, I implemented the sampling HW with PDB in back-to-back mode but I notice that it would be perfect if I use DMA. I found your example here:

https://community.nxp.com/t5/S32K-Knowledge-Base/Example-S32K144-PDB-ADC-trigger-DMA-ISR-S32DS/ta-p/...

This example is implemented for 4 channels, but I didn't understand how to use it just for 2 channels. I tried just to reduce the result[4] to result[2] and set ADC with just to channels but, after that, it doesn't work.

Could you explain me how to do it?

I attached your example with some changes. It works really good just for the first channel (3 in my case) but dosen't work for the other one

Thank you for your help

Andrea

0 Kudos

PetrS
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi,