Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SD card settings gone after reboot of LS1021A-IoT

Jump to solution
masranipiyush
Contributor II

Hi,

I am a newbie to LS1021A-IoT and am exploring it for a project. I got the board up and running and tried to add my agent to collect stats on the board. However, on reboot of the board, none of the changes are available on the card. Even if I create a directory in the filesystem, it is not present after reboot. Am I missing some setting?

Thanks,

Piyush

0 Kudos
1 Solution
yipingwang
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hello Piyush,

You are using RAM disk filesystem, you copied uImage, dtb and filesystem to RAM, then boot rootfs filesystem from RAM, so when the system reset, the modification is lost.

Please use the procedure to boot filesystem from SD, which I provided previously.

1. Please add the following line after IMAGE_INSTALL variable definition  in the recipe meta-fsl-networking/images/fsl-image-core.bb.

IMAGE_FSTYPES += "tar.gz"

Then run "bitbake fsl-image-core" to generate fsl-image-core-<platform>.tar.gz file in build_<platform>_release/tmp/deploy/images/<platform>/ folder.

2. Create another partition with "fdisk /dev/sdb" command and format this partition with "mkfs.ext2 /dev/sdb2".

On your PC, mount the second partition of SD card, and copy fsl-image-core-<platform>.tar.gz to this partition and extract it.

# cp fsl-image-core-<platform>.tar.gz .

# tar -zxvf fsl-image-core-<platform>.tar.gz

# rm fsl-image-core-<platform>.tar.gz

Copy uImage and dtb file to /boot folder.

3. Plug in the SD card to the target board and power on.

4. Set the environment in uboot for SD boot.

# setenv bootcmd 'setenv bootargs root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 rw rootdelay=5 console=ttyS0,115200;mmcinfo;ext2load mmc 0:2 0x83000000 /boot/uImage-ls1021aiot.bin;ext2load mmc 0:2 0x83800000 /boot/uImage-ls1021aiot.dtb;bootm 0x83000000 - 0x83800000'

# save

# boot