RCW CodeWarrior to Flex Builder Migration

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RCW CodeWarrior to Flex Builder Migration

smiller2
Contributor III

I am new to both CodeWarrior and FlexBuilder, so these may seem like obvious questions.   I went through CodeWarrior to define the RCW.   I generated a binary output which created a 1KB file, PBL_binary.bin.   

I am assuming that it is that file that I would program into the bottom of the QSPI Flash?   Does this file contain both the RCW and PinMux?   Or did I make some mistake generating it?

My hardware does not arrive until next week.   I only have the LS1046A FRWY board as an example.    (My hardware will be the same LS1046A processor.)  I tried to dump the first 1K bytes of the QSPI.      Using a HEX editor, it contains a bunch more data than my generated file.  The beginning portion seems similar.  However,  there appears to be a weird byte swap between the two files.     Do I have to set endianness somewhere?

The LSDK indicates that FlexBuilder can generate the RCW.   I am trying to follow along with the custom machine portion.   However, I don't know where to get the *.rcw file.   Can I export that from CodeWarrior?  

Also, there seems to be references to the RCW both in an RCW folder and down in u-boot.   Are these two versions of the same thing?   Or, does u-boot use the RCW for some other purpose?    

I am assuming that the initial RCW is done with CodeWarrior and then that information is added to the source code repository for use by FlexBuilder and source code control.   Is that correct?

Thanks.

0 Kudos
4 Replies

yipingwang
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Please refer to the following procedure to generate images with flex-builder.

1. In flex-builder build environment, please run "flex-builder -c rcw -m ls1046afrwy".