Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

32bit read access on 16bit eLBC (GPCM) - MPC8313E

Jump to solution
wonderwizard
Contributor III

Hi,

I have never used a freescale device before. If I perform a 32bit read / write on the 16bit eLBC does the (GPCM) eLBC controller split the single 32bit transaction into two 16bit transactions or is just the LSW used resulting in only 1 eLBC transcation being performed? I have not been able to find any crystal clear documentation on this, I think the MPC8313ERM section 10.5.3 is unclear.

I am creating a FPGA interface between the 16bit eLBC GPCM and a 32bit FPGA data bus.

Thanks in advance.

Chris

Message was edited by: Chris W - added GPCM info

0 Kudos
1 Solution
alexander_yakov
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

For MPC8313 processor, each address value addresses one byte of memory. So, when your memory device width is 16-bits (2 bytes), least significant bus address is not used for connection.

MPC8313 Reference Manual, Table 10-2:

LA[0:25]

Nonmultiplexed address bus. All bits driven on LA[0:25] are defined for 8-bit port sizes. For 16-bit port sizes LA[25] is a don’t care.

For 16-bit memory device address will be incremented by +2:

1st beat - to 0x1000

2nd beat - to 0x1002

From your FPGA device side, as long as least significant address is not visible, it will be seen as:

0x800

0x801

Where each address value addresses one 16-bit FPGA entry.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
alexander_yakov
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

In MPC8313 device - any 32-bit access to 16-bit GPCM target will be automatically split by local bus controller to two consecutive accesses, and these accesses will be performed in back-to-back manner. This is for both read and write.

Message was edited by: Alexander Yakovlev

0 Kudos
wonderwizard
Contributor III

It is still not clear to me how 32bit accesses are 'split' on the eLBC on the MPC8313E.

0 Kudos
alexander_yakov
NXP Employee
NXP Employee