CANNOT PROGRAM RS08KA2 WITH USBDM

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CANNOT PROGRAM RS08KA2 WITH USBDM

BooleanBob
Contributor IV

I have deleted my previous post about this same subject because I have been working on it a little further and found a couple of interesting issues, so I will post my problem again but in a different way and new data.

I will make it as short as possible. I have been using @pgo USBDM open source project for a couple of years now for development and also for teaching. My students have the USBDM project full featured PCB and I ordered about 50 pcs of this board, that uses MC9S08JM60CLD chip. The complete project @ pgo can be found here.

I have the latest USBDM versión installed USBDM_4_12_1_295_Win in my Windows 10 PC. I am using CodeWarrior 11.1

I have 3 completely assembled working USBDM boards, one of which I’ve been using for more than 2 years, programming and debugging most of the time MC9S08 chips e.g. AC60, JM60, QE128, SH8, QE8, PT16, and the like. I kept the other 2 as spares. Never had a problem. 

This first PCB's firmware was programmed using another USBDM programmer, and the corresponding FLASH image was used, the one that was available by that time.

I also have an old P&E Micro Multilink cable 12E that I kept as a spare and also for a project in which I used RS08KA2, a tiny chip that was ideal for my project. Never had a problem.

Two weeks ago I couldn't make my USBDM programmer flash any of the KA2 chips from a bunch of about 20 fresh units. I still keep about 150 brand new chips obtained from Mouser. For some reason the programming session starts but it stops at a certain point of the process. After that, it reports that it has erased the chip's memory. Then the programming process crashes and there is no way to regain control. The opened project must be closed an exit CodeWarrior.