cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Removing crystal from "Device-to-device communication via NFC demo"

Jump to solution
jerwey
Contributor I

I am new to hardware design and learning a lot as I go.  I have been able to take the device-to-device demo (from DemoLab, document DOC-333917, posted by jordijofremk and updated by richardschmidmaier) and do some pretty cool things with it.  I do have a question, which might be elementary but I'll only learn by asking (and I can't find an answer to which makes me think I'm missing something fundamental).

Will the spinning disc component still work if the external crystal was removed from the LPC11U24?  From what I understand, the crystal is only needed with LPC11U24 for USB communication, but this application does not use USB.  Can the chip's 12MHz IRC be used instead?

Thanks,

Jerry

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Kan_Li
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi Jerry,

It is ok for hardware if you remove the external crystal, but you have to modify the firmware to let it use IRC instead, I am not sure how to change the code in BSP to let it use IRC, you may have to check with the LPC community.

Have a great day,
Kan

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Note: If this post answers your question, please click the Correct Answer button. Thank you!
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
3 Replies
jerwey
Contributor I

I moved my question from the LPC group to this NFC group.  I think that I am right in that the LPC can be used without an external crystal, but the question is more geared toward if the Device2Device demo would still work.  In that regard, this is probably better suited as an NFC question.

Any thoughts?  Am I completely out to lunch?