Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"RTOS 4.1.x" v "RTOS for Kinetis SDK 1.0.0"

Jump to solution
razed11
Contributor V

Hi,

What is the difference between these toolkits? Why would one choose one over the other? I'm an experience ARM developer but Kinetis is new to me. I'll be using IAR as a build environment.

Thanks,

Kenny

0 Kudos
1 Solution
DavidS
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi Kenny,

The MQX4.x does have peripheral drives in the BSP RTOS component.

The peripheral support will be broader with the KSDK once December 2014 arrives and we have other RTOS and Filesystem support that MQX4.x does not.

From a porting point of view the MQX4.x is simpler to port mostly because it has been around longer and we have documentation on it.  We are working to improve that with KSDK.

I was shocked with the IAR build time in KSDK but I'm sure that will improve with each new release we do.

The actual release of RTOS support might be separate from the KSDK install for various marketing reasons and to keep installer size down.  But we are also weighing in on having them all in one install.  Time will tell.

Regards,

David

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
12 Replies
DavidS
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi Kenny,

I will try to summaries as briefly as possible.

Freescale MQX4.1.1 is a totally Free RTOS distribution that has all the source code for the RTOS and various stacks (MFS/USB/Ethernet) and works with CW10.6/IAR/Keil/Others.

Note that all the IDE's are purchasable products.

The Kinetis family has just released a Free IDE knows as KDS (Kinetis Design Studio) that has PE (Processor Expert) integrated with it to allow creating baremetal projects for most Kinetis devices.