MPC5748G FlexCan Receive Example not receiving data

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MPC5748G FlexCan Receive Example not receiving data

dh14
Contributor II

Hello, I am new to the nxp world and am trying to get my MPC5748G to receive data from and ECU. I create a new project from the examples and set all my debugger settings up to the openSDA settings. I have connected the canH(pb0) and canL(pb1) to the corresponding canH and canL  and ground on the 9 pin connector. When I go to run the example I get stuck during the debug mode on the line 

while (can_0.iflag1.b.buf4to1i !=   {}; /* wait for can_0 mb 4 flag */

rxcode = can_0.mb[4].cs.b.code; /* read code, id, length, data, timestamp*/

rxid = can_0.mb[4].id.b.id_std;

rxlength = can_0.mb[4].cs.b.dlc

When I look in the command terminal this message is displayed 
program received signal sigint, interrupt.

0x01003218 in receivemsg () at ../src/can.c:104

104 while (can_0.iflag1.b.buf4to1i != {}; /* wait for can_0 mb 4 flag */

Can anyone help me trouble shoot this problem? I have been pulling my hair out trying to figure it out.

Thanks

0 Kudos
5 Replies

PetrS
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi,

which example and board do you use?
Successful reception is signaled by setting MB flag in IFLAG1 register, this is the line you pointed to.
There can be many reason why it is not working. CAN bit timing must be properly set consistent with other node. MB must be prepared for reception, FlexCAN in normal mode. MCU pins properly configured and connected to transceiver, that have to be active too.
Check ESR, ECR registers if any error is detected.

BR, Petr

0 Kudos

dh14
Contributor II

Hello Petr,