cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"Error: Probe not open" with LPC-LINK2 CMSIS-DAP on Windows

Jump to solution
jake_m
Contributor II

I have two LPC54S018-EVK that work on one Windows 10 PC but not another. I'm trying to debug one of the example projects and getting the errors in the attached screenshots and log.

I'm new to NXP and have not had NXP software/drivers on either PC prior to a few weeks ago. The PC that doesn't work has never worked, and the one that does work as never not worked. I'm using MCUXpresso IDE v11.3.1 [Build 5262] [2021-04-02] on both.

I've checked the USB (e.g. different ports) and that seems to be fine. I also made sure nothing from NXP is blocked by the Windows firewall.

It looks like a different user reinstalled Windows to resolve this.

I also found this thread that references checking the VCOM driver version and verified that I only have the 2.0.0.0 driver.

Any ideas?

0 Kudos
1 Solution
ZhangJennie
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

after you finished firmware update, you need remove JP5, reconnect board to test connection.

If this failed on your computer, test your board on another PC

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
15 Replies
ZhangJennie
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

In addition to above. Another suggestion.

Try update LPC54S018-EVK on board debug firmware with latest LPCScrypt.

https://www.nxp.com/design/microcontrollers-developer-resources/lpcscrypt-v2-1-2:LPCSCRYPT?tid=vanLP...

please try both CMSIS-DAP and Jlink interface respectively. See if any one of the interface can work?

If neither of the interface can work, can your problematic PC can connect other LPC board? 

0 Kudos
jake_m
Contributor II

I ran the program_CMSIS.cmd and program_JLINK.cmd scripts and both succeeded, so it should be up-to-date, and I'm still seeing the same problem.

The PC with the issue does not work with either of 2 LPC boards that work on 2 other PCs.