Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MCUXpresso IDE SWO Trace in LPC55S6X

Jump to solution
tkontogiorgis
Contributor II

Hello,

I am new with the LPCXpresso55S69 board. I read In this post  : LPC55S69 - SWO issues with on board debugger. 

about integrating SWO Tracing in LPC55S6X MCU's.  I currently have the version : MCUXpresso IDE v11.1.1_3241.

Is this  possible to use SWO tracing in LPC55S69 or not? Is there any other way of profiling in LPC55S69?

Thanks in advance,

Theo

1 Solution
ZhangJennie
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi Theo.

I previously used old version of SDK. I just checked the new version already add mcuxpresso ide swo demo code inside. yes, you are right. All the tool (mcuxpresso IDE, iar, mdk ) can support swo demo code.

LPC55 ITM module on hardware, So it supports SWO .

We can set trace divider TRACECLKDIV to set trace clock to other values, for example 12MHz. it's OK.

When you connect the probe, MCUXpresso IDE only detects the valid interface you are currently using. from your screenshot, you are using LPC-Link2 CMSIS-DAP , thus only this interface is shown in the "Probe Discover" window.

Have a nice day,

Jun Zhang

View solution in original post

9 Replies
brendonslade
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

You may find this training video helpful:

https://www.nxp.com/design/training/advanced-debugging-with-mcuxpresso-ide-part-6-swo-trace:TIP-ADVA... 

To use SWO trace on LPC55S69 you need to ensure you have the SWO pin turned on (and set to the SWO function), and also enable the trace clock. This isnt done by default for most of the SDK examples because the examples for drivers only turn on what they need for the example. Its easy to do using the config tools (see the video above).