cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MCUX 10.2.1 - Debugger pauses but shows no context

Jump to solution
dmarks_ls
Senior Contributor I

I've been developing a C++ project on a Kinetis K24 for the last several months.  I've previously had no trouble setting breakpoints, pausing execution, and seeing my list of FreeRTOS tasks under [image_name].axf in my PEMicro debug context.  This is my third C++ project on Kinetis, and my second using MCUXpresso.

Just in the last week or so, the last couple of times I've tried to debug my program, when I press Pause to halt the program, or hit a breakpoint, the program does indeed halt, but I get no debug context at all... no RTOS tasks, not even a single-threaded instance.  When I first load my program, it does halt at the temporary breakpoint at the start of int main(); it shows the context under the AXF image in the P&E GDB tree, and pulls up the source file with main() and highlights the line.  But once the program starts running, if I hit pause, I get no debug context at all.  If I set a manual breakpoint in my main() routine and induce my target to do a watchdog reboot (by executing the command I'm presently trying to debug), when it hits the breakpoint, I see 20+ task contexts, but they're all leftovers of my previous run.  If I let the target reboot, then set a breakpoint in one of my not-buggy test routines, and trigger that breakpoint, the target halts, but no context appears under the AXF image, and no source file either.  If I let it resume, the target continues running normally.