cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem in migration IAP flash project from GNU GCC to MCUXpresso

geertsteyaert
Contributor I

Hi,

I'm building a OSHW Sensornode FluksoKube (github here : https://github.com/flukso/kube) . I've built all HW, compiled the software under the latest MCUXpresso but I'm having issues erasing flash+writing my remotely fetched code segments in Flash. Already during the IAP-ERASE the MCU locks up and I need to remove power + go into ISP to get the control back over the MCU. I'm rather new to the MCU game, learned a lot along the way. great fun. Made lots of mistakes and fixed them all. But on this one I'm stuck.

To me, it looks like my memory configuration (default one in MCUxpresso for the LPC812) is maybe incorrect, maybe I'm overwriting my own program space. I do think I have set up the correct memory configuration as far as I could find out: I  have set up the proper end/begin of the Flash/RAM as per the original linker file and I've set the Stack offset of 32 bytes for iap usage.

I managed to get the periph_flashiap LPCOpen example file working fine without any problem, so it's not a system problem.

In the meantime, I also got the original .BIN file from the developer. That one is working fine, meaning the flashing seems to work fine but in the IAP'd code I can see via the serial monitor some other bad messages. Maybe I2C hardware related. Not sure, anyway I would like to be able to use MCUXpresso to debug the MCU all the way based on my own setup.

I'll give the relevant details here: The main memory descriptor file in the original GNU GCC project is the linker file LPC812_boot.ld:

MEMORY
{
FLASH (rx) : ORIGIN = 0x00000000, LENGTH = 16k
RAM (rwx) : ORIGIN = 0x10000000+0x280, LENGTH = 4k-0x280 /* 0x270 for IAP */
}

INCLUDE rules.ld

And also there the rules.ld file is this:

ENTRY(ResetISR)

SECTIONS
{
.text :
{
KEEP(*(.isr_vector))
*(.after_vectors*)
*(.text*)
*(.rodata .rodata.*)