cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Insert Dead Time FTM0 FRDM-KE15Z

pablo_cosgaya
Contributor II

Hello everyone,

I am finding trouble trying to insert dead time on a PWM signal in my FRDM-KE15Z Board. I have tried different configurations of FTM0 but none seem to work, the PWM signals on both channels pairs CH0/CH1 and CH2/CH3 work as expected except for the lack of dead time. I may be missing something I may not have figured out yet so I'd appreciate some help on this as I am quite new to both embedded systems and NXP microcontrollers.

Attached can be found my present configuration settings just in case my mistake is something that can be easily fixed that I may have not noticed.

pastedImage_1.png

pastedImage_2.png

pastedImage_3.png

Thanks in advance,

Pablo Cosgaya

5 Replies

marek_neuzil
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hello Pablo Cosgaya,

I have checked the implementation of the deadtime insertion support in the fsl_ftm driver and there is missing support of the DTENn bit in the FTMx_COMBINE register that enables the deadtime insertion of the FTM channel pair (combined mode of channels n and n+1). I have reported the defect to the responsible development team (KPSDK-27729).

The initialization of the PWM channels is done in the FTM_SetupPWM() function. You can update the implementation of this function in the fsl_ftm.c file in your project by the following way:

/* Set the combine bit for the channel pair and enable dead time insertion. */
base->COMBINE |=
(1U << (FTM_COMBINE_COMBINE0_SHIFT + (FTM_COMBINE_COMBINE1_SHIFT * chnlParams->chnlNumber))) |
(1U << (FTM_COMBINE_DTEN0_SHIFT + (8 * chnlParams->chnlNumber)));

It is the line 515 in the fsl_ftm driver version 2.1.0.

This update of the source code always enable deadtime insertion for the PWM channel pair in the combined mode (kFTM_CombinedPwm).