cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm new to LPC and need help with I2C

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by jherrera8 on Fri Oct 07 11:20:12 MST 2011
Hello,

I am working on a school project and I need some help understanding the code for I2C. I have a 1769 and I am trying to use an IMU (accel and gyro) with my LPC. I cannot figure out how to set the IMU up. I I don't think I need to write to it, I just need to read the data from the IMU. I have looked at the example code and really don't understand whats going on. Any help would be greatly appreciated,

Thanks,
J
0 Kudos
13 Replies

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by jherrera8 on Wed Oct 12 13:14:44 MST 2011
I figured it out, turns out the registers were never changing because there was an issue with the resistors. The lines were pulled low, and I rechecked the ground lines. Sure enough, there was the problem. Thanks for all the help. At least I understand everything better:)

J
0 Kudos

aresmarser
Contributor III

Hi LPC WARE,

I also met some I2C issue which may be similar with yours.

Is it possible to share how you found and resolved the problem?

It would be great if you can help anything.

Many thanks,

Arna

0 Kudos

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by atomicdog on Tue Oct 11 19:57:58 MST 2011
What line does the code hang up at? If the SCL line is low when the start bit is set the LPC will just wait there until the SCL line goes high. When the SCL line is low the LPC assumes the bus is busy. Do the pins get pulled up all the way? Do you have continuity between the LPC and sensor?
You should use the debugger to watch the I2C registers and see if the correct bits are being set.
http://http://knowledgebase.nxp.com/member.php?u=4967
0 Kudos

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by jherrera8 on Tue Oct 11 19:18:11 MST 2011