FRDM-K64F - UART3 Issues With KSDK 2.0

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FRDM-K64F - UART3 Issues With KSDK 2.0

thunderfoot
Contributor II

I am using the FRDM-K64F for evaluation of the K64 for possible use in a commercial project. I am fairly new to KDS and the SDK 2.0 so please bare with me! I am able to get UART3 working via pins PTC16/PTC17 no problem with a simple mbed program, however when I try to do the same within Kinetis Design Studio using SDK 2.0 I can't get UART3 to work. I have UART3 connect to an RS485 transceiver, and when monitoring on a scope here is what I see when using mbed firmware:

182113_182113.pngRS485_Scope_GOOD.png

And I receive the message as expected. However, here is what I see when I attempt to use UART3 with firmware created with KDS and SDK 2.0:

182123_182123.pngRS485_Scope_BAD.png

I am assuming I must just not be muxing or initializing something correctly but haven't been able to figure it out. In my firmware, I am beginning with the Hello World demo app from the SDK2.0, and only adding minimal code to attempt to get basic functionality from UART3. 

I've attached my entire hello_world.c and pin_mux.c files.

This is urgent so any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks

Original Attachment has been moved to: hello_world.c.zip

Original Attachment has been moved to: pin_mux.c.zip

Labels (1)
Tags (3)
6 Replies

xiangjun_rong
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi, Michael,

I think your code is okay, especially, the pin assignment part.

Regarding your issue that the noise is large, I suppose that you connect two board together, especially, the two boards ground together via float wire, which leads to the noise.

If you dismantle all the float wires, test only the FRDM-K64F board,  test the uart3 TX pin with scope, does the issue exist?

Hope it can help you

BR

Xiangjun Rong

0 Kudos

thunderfoot
Contributor II

Hi Xiangjun,