cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

kinetis K60_120 Mhz NFC ECC protection question

henrynguyen
Contributor IV

Hi all,

i am new to the Kinetis K60_120 MHz family.  we are looking at this part to implement a memory controller interface to NAND flash with ECC.

From reading the K60 Sub-Family reference manual with addendum, i think i understand how the ECC is being used to correct the data and how the main data is organized in conjunction with the ECC.

however, i do not see any mention about the possibility of ECC bit itself got flipped and how to protect and correct the flipped ECC bit in the spared area?  The flipped possibility is small as the spared area is a lot smaller than the main data area, but it can happen.

Atmel SAM3x Nand flash controller has the parity associated with the ECC in the spare area where application can do the correction.  

I wonder if Kinetis K60 has something like that.  

Thank you.

Henry Nguyen

8 Replies

michael_galda
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

I did a little experiment hope that will clear your doubt.

First, save and read back a page with ECC set to 32-bytes ECC. Save off the 60 ECC bytes (HW generated) at the end of the spare bytes. Save a page without HW ECC bytes enabled, but with previous save ECC bytes and has random one bit flipped in ECC bytes, then read back with HW ECC enabled. The content of the page data is unchanged, but the algorithm has change in the 60-ECC bytes.

1. HW ECC detects and corrects the ECC bytes.
  2. Yes, it can correct 3 –bit error. As long as the whole page + spare is within the ECC set in the NFC_CFG[ECCMODE]. For example, if the ECCMODE = 001b (4-bit error), it can detect and correct 4 bit in page + spare (the spare includes the ECC bytes).

Attached is the sample code, user can change any bit in the eccbytes[16] array.

0 Kudos

michael_galda
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

The ECC protects and corrects both data and ECC bytes.