cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SPI drivers for MK12DN512, confusion between CMSIS and MCUXpresso SDK apis

DeepakKukreja
Contributor III

Hi,

I am creating and application for the Kinetis MK12DN512VLK5 part. The application makes use of the ADC DAC and the SPI peripheral for communication.

I am new to the Cortex M ecosystem and have some doubts.

I am referring the MCUXpresso SDK examples to get a hang of the peripheral support available.

There are several structure and function definitions for programming the SPI peripheral are available in the

• fsl_dspi_cmsis.h and the fsl_dspi_cmsis.c files as a well as
  • fsl_dspi.c and fsl_dspi.h

For creating and application what interfaces do I use? 

The MCUXPresso SDK API reference manual only documents the APIs and data structures in the fsl_dspi.c and fsl_dspi.h files, that too only very superficially.

One of the specific doubts that I have is if as an SPI slave if from my device I want to wait for incoming data from the master, then which function should I call:

• ARM_SPI_Receive() which is a CMSIS function or
  • DSPI_SlaveTransferNonBlocking() which is defined in the fsl_dspi.c 

Also I am not able to find how the CMSIS peripheral functions:

• Initialize
  • Send
  • Receive
  • Transfer

linked to the backend peripheral code.

I do not intend to use the DMA with the SPI data transfer since each transaction would involve upto 100 bytes

0 Kudos
2 Replies

DeepakKukreja
Contributor III

Thanks Felipe,

I decided to use the CMSIS drivers, the issue I faced though was that the source in the fsl_dspi_cmsis.c is all disabled. I put a query seeking help here: https://community.nxp.com/t5/MCUXpresso-SDK/CMSIS-SPI-driver-code-disabled/m-p/1190991/highlight/tru...

What could be missing at my end

0 Kudos

FelipeGarcia
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi Deepak,