cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Programming an S9KEAZN32AMLC using the KEA128 development board

vladstroian
Contributor I

Hello everyone,

I am new to microcontrollers and I'm trying to program an S9KEAZN32AMLC MCU that I bought and soldered to a PCB. I've succeded in programming the KEA128 development board that has the same MCU on it using the S32 IDE.

My question is, can I use the development board to program the MCU after it's been soldered on the board, without using a dedicated programmer? Thank you everyone.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies

vladstroian
Contributor I

Hi,

I'm using the FRDM board. What I would like to do is use the development board to program an S9KEAZN32AMLC MCU which is already soldered on a custom PCB. I do not own any sort of programmer. I would also avoid making any modifications to the development board. Can't I simply somehow use the development board pins to program the external MCU with the S32 IDE?

0 Kudos

kerryzhou
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi Vlad Stroian,

Which FRDM board you are using? FRDM-KEA128 right?

If yes, you can use the FRDM-KEA128 to program your external S9KEAZN32AMLC board.

1. Change your FRDM-KEA128 on board debugger to JLINK firmware

Download the segger driver and install it:

https://www.segger.com/downloads/jlink/JLink_Windows.exe 

Power off the board, then press the reset button and hold on it, power on the board, you will find your boad is a device named as "BOOTLOADER",

then download :

https://www.segger.com/downloads/jlink/OpenSDA_V1 

Send OpenSDA_V1.bin to your "BOOTLOADER".

Power off the baord and power on it again.

Now you FRDM on board debugger is the JLINK.

2. Remove your FRDM-KEA128 on board R101:

pastedImage_3.png

3. connect your FRDM board J14 to your own board swd interface:

pastedImage_4.png