cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No Freemaster connection with S32K148EVB-Q176

lawrence_minnet
Contributor I

Hi All,

I'm quite new to this all and tried to get my board up and running using a couple of different quick start guides and posts from this community. Unfortunately none of it has resolved my problem to connect in freemaster with the board described above.

I tried the following things:

- Installed FreeMaster v2 & v3

- Installed FreeMaster Communication Driver

- Installed Windows USB drivers from this website (PEmicro | Experts in Embedded tools for Flash Programming and Development )

- Updated MSD-Debug to v122 and OpenSDA to v108 using the bootloader mode on the target board

The way I'm trying right now is through the model based design toolbox by compiling simulink example models. I was able to flash a slightly modified LED example for the S32K148 board (I don't have stateflow) and added a Freemaster config block (attached images). When I open the board as a drive on my pc a .mot file shows up.

But when I run the connection wizard on FreeMaster it doesn't find the board. I have tried to follow some of the other guides, but had so far no luck. I followed this instructions as well https://community.nxp.com/thread/464233 , but I was not sure if it didn't work because I did something wrong or the difference in board won't make it work.

Either way, I'm somewhat out of ideas. Is it possible that one of the drivers wasn't installed properly? Is there a way to check?

Thanks for your help,

Lawrence

0 Kudos
15 Replies

iulian_stan
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi Lawrence,

My first guess would be to check the pin mapping for LPUART1 if you are using the serial communication over OpenSDA mini USB port. If it's indeed the case double check the pins. I would suggest trying PTC6 and PTC7 as per quick guide specifications.

Regards,

Iulian

0 Kudos

lawrence_minnet
Contributor I

Hi Iulian,